HomeРазвлеченияRelated VideosMore From: Mrgunsngear Channel

Magpul Gen M3 MCT PMAG: The Official USMC Magazine Review (4k)

1132 ratings | 24522 views
I do some shooting with the new US Marine Corps medium coyote tan PMAG, discuss the recent test of them compared with 3 other magazines, and what I think of them overall. 9mm Element shirt: http://amzn.to/2vGS4sx Test link: http://c9.nrostatic.com/sites/default/files/Aberdeen%20Report.pdf Sign up for my email list here: www.Mrgunsngear.com 1776 United Shirts link (use code Mrgunsngear for 10% off): http://bit.ly/2rCn5PW My Forged From Freedom Shirts: https://goo.gl/QsLoK8 www.facebook.com/mrgunsngear Mrgunsngear patches/stickers: https://patriotpatch.co/collections/mrgunsngear https://www.amazon.com/shop/mrgunsngear www.Instagram.com/Mrgunsngear www.twitter.com/mrgunsngear Music by Machinima & Epidemic Sound Disclaimer: These videos are strictly for educational and entertainment purposes only. Imitation or the use of anything demonstrated in my videos is done AT YOUR OWN RISK. All work on firearms should be carried out by a licensed individual and all state and federal rules apply to such.  We (including YouTube) will not be held liable for any injury to yourself or damage to your firearms resulting from attempting anything shown in any our videos. I do not endorse any specific product and this video is not an attempt  to sell you a good or service. I am not a gun shop and DO NOT sell or deal in Firearms. Such a practice is heavily regulated and subject to applicable laws. I DO NOT sell parts, magazines, or firearms. These videos are free to watch and if anyone attempts to charge for this video notify us immediately. By viewing or flagging this video you are acknowledging the above. Fair Use: In the rare instance I include someone else’s footage it is covered in Fair Use for Documentary and Educational purposes with intention of driving commentary and allowing freedom of speech.
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (289)
SRK Survival (2 months ago)
I’ve had issues with my Pmags dropping from magazine-well after empty. Have you had any of those same issues? Anybody?
Skyler Slack (3 months ago)
I can confirm these are issued in the US army aswell. In coyote brown mostly
Mrgunsngear Channel (3 months ago)
thanks for the report
WeAreNotAlone69 (4 months ago)
At 8:03 barrel on rifle is flopping around.
lifeisgood070 (4 months ago)
m3 pmags have been flawless for me. Only ever had a feeding issue with really weird brands. Do they ever go on sale and what site? Everytime I find them they're $14.95 unless you get the gen2 or something.
SaginawGS (7 months ago)
855a1 is a stupid 'solution'
The Faceless Man82 (8 months ago)
Pmags are fantastic you'll get no argument from me. But while I do like the new mct color I'm so pissed FDE and OD green are gone :(
Mrgunsngear Channel (8 months ago)
fair enough
Evan LaCross (9 months ago)
Hey these mags seat properly in a S&W Sport 2 lower right? I just bought a 10 pack of these online because of the pending legislation here in RI. I’ve seen talk on some forums that the over insertion stop can cause problems with some lowers. It appears as though you’ve tried it in the Sport 2 (the camo rifle with the black ACOG and quad rail in the video) but I’m a paranoid guy haha
DoubleTap (10 months ago)
Great information .. thanks
Mrgunsngear Channel (10 months ago)
You're welcome 👍🏽
Samuel Gray (11 months ago)
What happen to your love of lancer 5 mags?
Im The southpaw (1 year ago)
The only .223/5.56 rifle I own is a Serbian AK (M90NP). The only mag that give me any issues are USGI aluminum mags and heavy guage steel mags. Lancers and PMAGS work flawlessly. Even though the feed ramp is different, it's still an AK, so the chambering action is somewhat violent.
R J (1 year ago)
Thumbs up for Lancer over pmag g3 and comment pls..,
Radvous (1 year ago)
8:04 That barrel whip though, what's your torque on the barrel nut at?
Erik Luca (6 months ago)
Radvous I second that. I never seen a barrel flex that much. Maybe it’s a pencil profile.
Otaku_Brony83 (1 year ago)
Very comprehensive. I like P-mags; but now I like them more. I have allot of gen-2 for my custom; look into some gen 3 "s" Thanks
Jason Brown (1 year ago)
It's nice to see that for once the USMC grunts are getting the good stuff. When I was an 0311 (mid 90s), we had M16A2s that were so old they look like they were bead blasted stainless or chromed, not anodized aluminum. Not sure they had much rifling left. I was issued a Nam-era green/zipper flack jacket when I was in GTMO. Meanwhile the Rangers show up on their way to go to Haiti and their guns were BRAND SPANKING NEW. Anyway, keep up the good work MrGnG, great video as always!
VenomVsTRex (1 year ago)
How these compare to Lancer or HexMag?
lkjh00on89 (1 year ago)
Ruger AR556 review?
lkjh00on89 (1 year ago)
"Enhanced Performance Magazine..."
Two First Names (1 year ago)
awesome video dude, always great presentation! what song was that for the intro? beat so raw it makes me want to start rapping!
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
thank you. not sure offhand what the song was, sorry
Grunt 7414 (1 year ago)
irish italian and british special forces are all using lancer warfighter mk4 mags...i has bunches of them..i love them i havnt gone back to pmag since the metal head.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
🇺🇸
Eric Ovalle (1 year ago)
Thanks for the update.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
you're welcome
mastalee (1 year ago)
I wonder how they will compare it to lancer and elite tactical system mags
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
maybe we'll see one day
Mike Angelastro (1 year ago)
Why doesn't the army just adopt the Pmag?
DB Cooper (1 year ago)
I've noticed that the dogs are not glock or sig fans.
cavtroopermunoz (1 year ago)
Nice to see you break out the toys at the end there. I still hate the M4 or whatever the latest configuration is. Now the A2, that is a rifle. There should be a special marker on your house so thieves can have one last chance to reassess how their living before making the ultimate mistake.
Chris Young (1 year ago)
Yo MRGUNSNGEAR if your looking for something to review that everyone keeps over looking it's the DI optical RV1 looks to be a hidden gems that nobody noticed it's aimpoint quality with out the price 👍🏽👌🏽
HondoLane76 (1 year ago)
What acog ta31 qd mount would you recommend (budget < $150)?
Darth Carloos (1 year ago)
Nice GTA loading screen style music lol :)
Pete Sheppard (1 year ago)
It was interesting to see how well the old legacy GI mags hang in there with the latest versions.
Dohn Joe (1 year ago)
a mild copper plating on the steel pen would be an easy improvement.
America (1 year ago)
Almost thought we weren't gonna get a doggo inspection there, Mr. GNG.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
almost :D
Magus Joseph (1 year ago)
Great video!
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
thanks
THEZOMBIEBUNKER (1 year ago)
Guess the Army chooses Hex mags,,,
THEZOMBIEBUNKER (1 year ago)
P320 joke for anyone that got it lol
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
ha
Gun Sense (drmaudio) (1 year ago)
I think most of us with boxes full of mags already knew that, but it is great to have some systematic testing to validate.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
agreed
Dan (1 year ago)
I have a mix of Magpul M3 and Lancer mags. Love them both. Question....have you gotten your paws on Magpul's 300BLK M3s for testing yet?
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
I haven't
Q James (1 year ago)
I have this exact same mag in my self defense AR filled with Vor-tx 223 barnes ammo.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
nice
Armament & Axes (1 year ago)
these look good but I couldn't pass up $11 P Mags g2 at my local store. I bought a few more.... :) and WOW barrel harmonics at 8:05 .
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
nothing wrong with that
Deplorable_Brian (1 year ago)
So they designed an entirely new bullet that prematurely wears/damages the weapon it was designed for? Wow, good job.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
pretty much
Richy is the name (1 year ago)
I generally like army, but their decisions on equipment related things (especially weapons) is very questionable.
Nicholas Rodriguez (8 months ago)
Richy is the name not really
Jack VanSchoyck (1 year ago)
Source for the M855A1 please.
aew0aew0 (1 year ago)
Is this the same as the gen m3 pmag?
Nuts! Nuts! (1 year ago)
The only "negative" thing I could say about PMAG is that the owner of Battlefield Las Vegas, which I know you are very familiar with because of your videos, said that the US GI mag outlasted any other magazine on their range by a very large margin. That being said, I own at least ten PMAGS and have never had a problem with any of them, and he never said anything about the shooting reliability of the magazines just that they outlasted all others. I guess I really rather have something work flawlessly for a shorter period of time though...
tackytrooper (1 year ago)
When I was in most of the mags I handled looked like they had been through several wars...still worked fine though. Those aluminum bodies will last just about forever as long as you don't bash on the feed lips.
Leethal W (1 year ago)
excellent presentation of the info Mr Guns. Magpul should kick you an endorsement deal!
SouthKC (1 year ago)
Love the 9mm shirt you have on. I just ordered mine and it said there was only qty=3 left. Glad I jumped on buying one now than waiting any longer.
Its.me.Colton (1 year ago)
I hope the airfare gets these. Our mags suck
tackytrooper (1 year ago)
Mags are pretty much by definition not a primary concern of your branch...
Spartan D194 (1 year ago)
Another test I loved is when Naval Station Crane released that MLOK wiped the floor with keymod.
Argentum (1 year ago)
Great video. Do you have the source material or site? How do you know that Vendor A is the Pmag? And I thought the NSN was for Marines to buy the Gen 3 MCT Pmags optionally, not standard issue.
Billy Ledbetter (1 year ago)
Buds has Gen 2 and 3 for $9.99/black.
John Smith (1 year ago)
When did he start shooting in 4K?
kempoguy (1 year ago)
I bought 2 and am waiting for delivery...Thank you for the review.
Mountaineer Marksman (1 year ago)
Nice review (and toys)
yangp2k (1 year ago)
Holy barrel whip batman! @8:15
kyle50calkg (1 year ago)
The Marine Corps leads the pack when it comes to the individual rifle. They spearheaded the M16A2. Used the M16A4 with ACOGs in mass and will most likely be the first to issue suppressors in mass. I'm sure they chose this magazine in some solid evidence.
Nicholas Rodriguez (8 months ago)
Keep drinking the kool aid. The marines dont lead anything. They made the m4 their main rifle years after the Army did. They get everything after the army does. Hell they're even trying to get rid of the infantry lol dumb idea. Army has had pmags for years already. Unlike the marines we were allowed to buy anything we wanted
tackytrooper (1 year ago)
The gov't profile barrel was adopted because a few guys misinterpreted the gas port as wear and decided they needed more thickness in front (which is exactly the opposite of where common sense has it you would need more thickness.) Because of this, it adds weight to the front of the weapon without really helping the barrel at all.
kyle50calkg (1 year ago)
tackytrooper If a service branch decided to do it, the Marines would do it first. They are talking about it right now pretty extensively. Almost everything starts off in small units. Don't see how the gov profile barrel is a mistake.
tackytrooper (1 year ago)
I doubt they will ever mass-issue suppressors. Modern conventional war is a loud business by necessity. Suppressors only really make sense in small-unit ops and in very occasional situations elsewhere. And the government profile barrel was a mistake, never forget.
Brendan Fazekas (1 year ago)
Over 7 years I've been running only P mags gen 2 and 3 never ever had a problem and all of them are always loaded. Love em
jdharrison01 (1 year ago)
Excellent reliability numbers from the HK M27.
Kevin Brady (1 year ago)
Magpul always been my 1# pick never had a issue 110% reliable The only mags I've had problems with are the G.I mags & HEX-mags
Vet 67-91 (1 year ago)
Good mag info.  Which ACOG do you have on that Colt?
XTrooper3936 (1 year ago)
Another great video, Mrgunsngear! I would go out a get a bunch of the newer Gen3 PMags, but I have a lot of loot already invested in the ~50 Gen2 mags I already own and have never had an issue with any of them to date. Do you know of any issues with the Gen2 PMags that would warrant me replacing them with Gen3 mags? Thank you!
Shane K (1 year ago)
The feed lips on my 40rd pmags spread when I leave them loaded. The rounds on top are almost side by side.
Radvous (1 year ago)
lets see the pictures
StripperTipper-405 (1 year ago)
I exclusively use 40rd PMAGs and mine feed fine after sitting loaded for months. Put the dust covers on them for storage if you want. I don't even like thirties anymore, they look puny!
Shane K (1 year ago)
I've never used the dust covers, maybe I can take some pictures of how they spread
Tyler (1 year ago)
Shane K magpul treated it as if I was lying. That's why I went lancer but, magpul seems to do better in trials. If bet vendor B was the AWM I don't care what the USMC test says I'll take my AWM. But, gen 3 p mags I love also. I just like magpul even though I was treated rudely.
ReadyOrNot (1 year ago)
Wow, I have a couple I own, they stay fully loaded too, but with the dust covers on. No issues last I checked.
Shane K (1 year ago)
Why did the marines give up the saw for a magazine fed m16 by HK?
Jake M (1 year ago)
Shane K i for one HATED humping that fucking 249, but i do think the HK's the marine corp is using right now should come standard with a 60 round pmag drum...these weapons are mainly used for suppressing fire so i do think a belt felt is superior for suppressing, but i think at minimum the H&K's should have a reliable drum mag (pmag 60's) or preferably a belt fed upper. Im sure the reason they switched though was purely to shave weight and they shave A LOT of weight going from the m249 to the H&K's.
Seth Gurulé (1 year ago)
Great magazine! I personally have a Magpul Gen 3 M3 Magazine with the window, and it has proven itself to be very worthy. Thus far putting a few thousand rounds through it, it has worked flawlessly, without feeding issues. Something I wanted to address in your video, that no one seems to have mentioned is, starting at the 8:04 mark on your video, at the tail end of your shooting clips, the first rifle you shot (which is a remarkable rifle by the way) seems to have an awful lot of play, and wobble on the barrel when fired. I was surprised, and watched numerous times, to see if any of your other rifles did it, and it doesn't seem as prominent as this particular rifle in your lineup. I'm curious if you have noticed this, & if your rifle is consistent in accuracy from shot, to shot? Naturally, a rifle has to have a little bit of play with moving parts, and have a little wiggle room. However, it seems like a little too much play in my opinion, & I'm wondering if your accuracy has suffered because of that significant wobble in the barrel. Maybe I solved a problem. The slow motion footage is what caught my attention to it. Please follow up with me. I'm curious. Thanks...so much and thank your amazing videos in the 2A community!
Desmend Yarbrough (1 year ago)
how did you get them? I've been on the website waiting for months to buy them
kush god (1 year ago)
go braves
ReelFishingNW (1 year ago)
I've heard the Troy Battlemag was issued in the military. Anyone know if that's true?
50 Stitches Steel (1 year ago)
Great review sir!
Don't Tread On Peewee (1 year ago)
So are you doing a review of that new Colt SOCOM you got?
Fox Mulder (1 year ago)
hope you have pretty cool neighbors, wherever you are on that lakefront, and not some asshole hoplophobe who'll call state agents after ya. xD great view. thanks for the upload! :D
CJ Moore (1 year ago)
Love the Magpul's I have the Gen 2's and 3's and they are great!
Joseph Abna (1 year ago)
How's the s&w m&p sport 2 hold up
Bob Dobalina (1 year ago)
Hey Mrgunsngear I've heard you mention before you didn't like the serrated trigger on the g19, so I "think" said you swapped it out with a g17's trigger because the 17 comes with a smooth faced trigger, do I have that correct?
Brian K. Richey (1 year ago)
My Gen 2s have been rockin Awsome for the last three years. I suppose when they start wearing out I'll look at these.
gungnir _ (1 year ago)
So the army made a magazine thats worse than usgi mags? Why don't they just use pmags like the marines
Alex Page (1 year ago)
In all seriousness, not trying to troll you or anything, but are you concerned at all that shooting near those crops could somehow contaminate them with lead? Or is that small amount of lead benign?
Tungsten Carbide (1 year ago)
How are the gen m3 on at fairing with 300 blackout chambered AR15s? I've had problems with the gen1 and gen2 pmags.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
All standard AR mags can have OAL issues
Mittens561 (1 year ago)
pmags and the Brownells GI mags are great, only 2 i run.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
🇺🇸
A Fucking Leaf (1 year ago)
>It's not cheap Why is it that AR mags are under $20 when pistol mags can be up to $70?
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Supply and demand
Hunts4Food67 (1 year ago)
@Mrgunsngear Channel @0.04 Was that the Vortex Razor AMG UH-1? Thanks for sharing!
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Yes
Hunts4Food67 (1 year ago)
Oh & it was also @8:28 :-)
Charles White (1 year ago)
We left our mags loaded for months overseas. I'd like to see how those feed lips hold up, especially when dropped on concrete or rock. Marines are not easy on our gear.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Check out my Gen M3 review 👍🏼
Major Rager (1 year ago)
Does this mean usgi aluminum mag prices will start falling? All I shoot is 55gr ball so I'm not concerned about this new fancy ammo and my colt eats everything I feed it without issue
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Probably not. It's about as cheap as it gets now
Brannon Pardue (1 year ago)
Dude u got some serious barrel flex on one of the first rifles u show in slow-mo at the end
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Indeed
IndianaPatriot98 (1 year ago)
What rail did you put on the sport?
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Battlesteel. Review coming
JGstunts22 (1 year ago)
Only issue I ever had with an m 3 or gen 3 was dropped a full mag on cement and it cracked lips but that's to be expected I guess
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Thanks
rambokicksass77 (1 year ago)
Never got these when I went through MCT, lol. :)
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
😁
Dr.Trollish (1 year ago)
Looking at the study seems like all the mags where pretty good. Most of the failures where all light strikes or trigger not resetting. Not really sure what bolt over base means. Guess its just the wrong mag in the wrong gun. But magazines are like that. I'm glad as a civilian I get to test all the mags I use at the range.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Bolt over base is a mag failure FWIW
tanakattack (1 year ago)
wow what was that huge can that you were shooting from the scar at the end
tanakattack (1 year ago)
what cover is it?
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
It's not, just has a cover.
Philippe Chebli (1 year ago)
How about you review that Colt!
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
I have a SOCOM review up
1099 Deus Vult (1 year ago)
Good enough for USMC, good enough for me.
WeAreNotAlone69 (4 months ago)
USMC considers mags DISPOSABLE. I will bet that they come up with a schedule that Magpul mags say over 2 years old are rotated out to training. I look at like good for xyz amount of time. Then Magpuls as the are all plastic, aka tactcool word "polymer" aren't trustworthy as they have no reinforcement in feedlip area. I will bet a LANCER mag will function for a heck of lot longer as they have a hardened steel inset /set of feedlips. Lancer= SHTF, LONG TERM STORAGE. / Long lifespan mags. and mag that will work 30 years from now... Magpul= Great price = Cheap to produce, cost effective . Range mags beyond several years out. Look at GLOCK mags.. there is a reason GLOCK puts liners in them. .
Nicholas Rodriguez (8 months ago)
The m16 was good for them too, look how that went
MemoryDecipheR (1 year ago)
Pimperino Because I can.
No Name (1 year ago)
MemoryDecipheR but why are you worried about what mags he is using
TheJonBacon (1 year ago)
Cannot wait for the 300 Blackout Gen 3 PMAG. Brownells has them for preorder, 15 a mag. Supposed to feed subs much easier.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
We shall see
superswaglord1945 (1 year ago)
have you noticed any issues with the follower not lifting up the bolt catch, as in the follower tilts forward too much? I have like 10 PMAGs and 3 of them fail to lock open the bolt all of which are Gen 3. No problems with the Gen 2's. kinda bothers me, since I can't really buy pmags with the trust I used to have in them.
rambokicksass77 (1 year ago)
I've noticed them being spread apart farther than usual when left loaded. More than likely, it's just my imagination. Haven't measured the gap, but I've left them loaded for a couple months while I'm at my duty station. Whenever I take leave, I'll take another look at them. I've heard from some people that their feed lips on their PMAGs have a tendency of cracking while left loaded for a period of time. Not sure if it's consistent with a certain generation of magazines or what.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Have not
superswaglord1945 (1 year ago)
No malfunctions if thats what you mean, and I've been storing my mags loaded for probably close to 6 years. Just issues with the followers or mag body not being up to spec. Ive tried swapping parts around with limited success. How do you mean the feed lips are getting weak?
rambokicksass77 (1 year ago)
superswaglord1945 Any feed lip issues on your PMAGs? I'm starting to notice on my Gen 2 mags that the feed lips are getting weak.
Where did you get the m855a1? Did you purchase it as loaded ammo or did you purchase the bullets and handload them?
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Grtheyre on forums
Willie Rodriguez (1 year ago)
There so good hard to find!
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
In stock as of now
Nelson LeDoux (1 year ago)
The Marines released a PowerPoint? What color crayon did they use?
Eric R (1 year ago)
They ate the crayons before they could use them.
dean jones (1 year ago)
Sam Russell that was outstanding!
Cole Dedhand (1 year ago)
Crimson and Gold because those colors don't run.  Red, White, and Blue also acceptable.
Johnny Sons (1 year ago)
Nelson LeDoux easy man lol.
Sam Russell (1 year ago)
We prefer to write with the brown crayons cause they don't taste very good....
Johnstoyota87 (1 year ago)
Good and interesting video Mrgunsngear! I'm interested in knowing the long term reliability of PMAGS. I've heard from different people, possibly you too, that one of problems with the USGI mags failing is that the military would use them pass their life cycles.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Thanks
jaxbrewery (1 year ago)
As always, great review!
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Thanks!
Suppose the Army didn't test any of the other mags... just went with the cheapest vendor, kind of like their new sidearm.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
I think they actually specd the mags out
Chet Manley (1 year ago)
I've always heard guys complain about PMAGs where say that GI mags are the most reliable. From my experience, their conclusion is based on an operator error in a high stress situation followed by them failing to recognize it or their ego not allowing them to believe that they were the cause of the malfunction. In turn they blame the equipment. I love PMAGs as I've never had a problem with them. Ive had the same experience with steel Stoner mags and in turn love them too.
Zyralius 1982 (1 year ago)
That Vortex HUEY tho
Ryan Snow (1 year ago)
Review please
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
👍🏼
Aequitas (1 year ago)
4K 60fps? Oh yes.
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
😀
Thomas Coppersmith (1 year ago)
Mike, what ammo were you running through the cans?
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
55gr freedom
AF-O6 (1 year ago)
These or Lancers for regular people?
Mrgunsngear Channel (1 year ago)
Both good mags
ReadyOrNot (1 year ago)
Anyone know who Vendor B was?
Tyler (1 year ago)
ReadyOrNot I'd bet lancer AWM.
Charles (1 year ago)
ReadyOrNot expired M&M packages
Victor NIstor (1 year ago)
Crayon boxes
ReadyOrNot (1 year ago)
dustinebriated 😂
d3m1gawd (1 year ago)
ReadyOrNot Walmart

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.