HomeЛюди и блогиRelated VideosMore From: BuzzFeedVideo

Real Psychologist Reviews Mental Illness In Movies

130468 ratings | 4257699 views
What does a real psychologist think of how mental illness is portrayed in movies? Dr. Ali Mattu, clinical psychologist at the Columbia University Medical Center, takes a look at how mental illness is depicted in pop culture and tells us how accurate they really are. Credits: https://www.buzzfeed.com/bfmp/videos/68415 Special thanks to Dr. Ali Mattu! https://youtube.com/thepsychshow Check out more awesome videos at BuzzFeedVideo! https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedvideo https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedblue1 https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedviolet GET MORE BUZZFEED: https://www.buzzfeed.com https://www.buzzfeed.com/videos https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedvideo https://www.youtube.com/asis https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedblue https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedviolet https://www.youtube.com/perolike https://www.youtube.com/ladylike BuzzFeedVideo BuzzFeed’s flagship channel. Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always shareable. New videos posted daily! To see behind-the-scenes & more, follow us on Instagram @buzzfeedvideo http://bit.ly/2JRRkKU Love BuzzFeed? Get the merch! BUY NOW: https://goo.gl/gQKF8m
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (6543)
Muriël den Biesen (2 hours ago)
Sherlock does have some moments where he is more impulsive. Like in Hounds of Baskerville when he poisons John and lets him experience hallucinations even though what the 'poison' would do was just a guess at that point. You also see him break down sometimes, mostly in anger or sadness and that's when he does things he wouldn't otherwise do. But I do agree that in general, he is more calculating than impulsive.
xXwolf_playsXx (14 hours ago)
Before i watch is there a secret window in here?
Jazzy J (18 hours ago)
Also the show you is a good example of ASPD
Annanya Guha (20 hours ago)
They should've take bates motel as well.
deiprofundis (1 day ago)
*it's an m night shyamalan film.* omg fjdhfjfb
Nay The Spud (1 day ago)
Am I the only one that cried with the baby scene? I hate seeing babies suffer ☹️
If say Sherlock is very impulsive. Remember him shooting the wall?
One_spicy _boi (2 days ago)
Only buzzfeed videos I will watch
xd Elite Machete (2 days ago)
“Iron man 3 is one of my favorites” is a collection of words that should never be said
Oof Boi (2 days ago)
Good video bad channel
Jay Kingston (2 days ago)
God how boring!
TheFubz (3 days ago)
they missed another character in silver linings, jennifer lawrences character had borderline
Whatever (3 days ago)
Great educational series keep up the good work👌🏼
Shrink Tank (4 days ago)
BuzzFeedVideo, well done! We make similar videos and this one struck a chord with us being that it tackled the subject of mental illness. Great work!
IrokoSalei (4 days ago)
This was a really really great videos, I'm not good with words but thank you !
wingedkateye (4 days ago)
bring him back maybe? i enjoyed it so much
aideen pierce (4 days ago)
Where is Benedict scene
Julia Garriott (6 days ago)
His voice is so calming.
wildfireXzero (6 days ago)
My only complaint about this video is I'd wish OCD was included; in other words, FANTASTIC VIDEO!
I first read it as “Real Sociopath” lol
Argore (7 days ago)
I read psychopath instead of psychologist... Nice
To be honest, I wanted My Little Pony: Equestria Girls - Legend of Everfree to be Schizophrenia because of a joke I heard on LittleshyFiM: Twilight Sparkle has schizophrenia because in the last movie she became evil, but she doesn’t want her friends to know. I probably triggered most of you, I’m sorry. I just wanna day this, but please don’t curse at me.
MorseCode MorseCode (9 days ago)
I would of riot if they didn't add split
Uncle Creepy (10 days ago)
Let’s make a lighting backdrop for filming them cut to a camera angle where the backdrop doesn’t cover everything.
eventhorizon (10 days ago)
I will say with Split- only some personalities will "converse" with each other- they make a combined effort to block 2 from "standing in the light", who in turn will conspire with each other- and not others. The 9 year old personality generally is kept in the dark by everyone in there and gets frustrated. James McAvoy is amazing in it- little things like proudly sitting up taller when saying he's 9, or the look on his face when he said he stole something from another alter... But also completely agree- yeah, any group of people may have individuals who might do something violent- but generally people with mental illnesses tend to be the ones more likely to be abused, or to have been abused, than someone who is likely to abuse. Yes- many who were abused as children can end up being abusers themselves- but in the grand scheme of things I *feel* that's a relative few when compared to the overall numbers, considering we also don't have accurate numbers of exactly how many children are abused, since so many cases go unreported. But I feel that- I haven't seen official numbers to that so don't take my word on it for sure.
It works 100% (10 days ago)
Iron man 3 is my favourite movie Not because of the vfx movies story But because it shows some mentel illnesses
PrinceChris93 (10 days ago)
Way too long in explanation
Maria Protopop (11 days ago)
I feel like I have all of these disorders now
The Skyrim Inquisitor (11 days ago)
Idk why but he looks like Joe Mangeniello to me
Marisa R (12 days ago)
This video is super interesting, Ive struggled and still struggling with some mental illnesses. My family and friends also struggle with mental illnesses and it's interesting to see how other people live.
Raine_Raine (12 days ago)
I see Sherlock/ Benedict Cumberbatch, I click!!! High-functioning Sociopath!
i'm kinda sad they didn't include the perks of being a wallflower, I did an essay about it for a school project and I would have loved to see what other people thought about the representation of depression and PTSD in that movie, especially a professional psychologist like the guy in this video
Abbi Vickery (12 days ago)
Really wish they did borderline personality disorder and pocd which involves many types of intrusive thoughts. Both I have and both are very misunderstood.
elijah thecreator (13 days ago)
he should react to Even from skam and how he deals with bipolar
Tom Cooper (14 days ago)
Can we get a real cannibals review cannibalistic movies segment? Like forreal... this is becoming a bad rabbit hole.
Jordan Stevens (15 days ago)
0:18 I milky rock🕺🏾
Natalie Munoz (15 days ago)
You should do an analysis of Salad Fingers the series
Sherlock is a tv show not a movie.
Mak Knouse (15 days ago)
My dad is bi-polar and ya it did ruin my family. My family is not functioning anymore because of it. Its not quit exactly like it is in that movie but close
BigAnimeTiddies (15 days ago)
I thought Silver Linings Playbook was just an accurate representation of the people of Philadelphia.
Kevin Edwards (16 days ago)
I LOVE videos like this! Taking professionals and having them talk about the accuracy of stuff in movies is so much fun to watch. This stuff and the LegalEagle law videos are some of my favorites
Neil Day (16 days ago)
Dr. Bruce Banner Reviews Mental Illness In Movies
SMV GOON (16 days ago)
Next up: Real Crackheads Reviews Crackheads In Movies
Taliyah M. (17 days ago)
6:17 - 6:23 who was working the camera here? Lol
SHUTTER ISLAND?????
Gadam Mohit (17 days ago)
Gone Girl messed me up for a while🙄
Stephanie Fernandes (18 days ago)
"It's a M. Shyamalan movie, sooo..." Oh yeah, so never mind.
Laurence Paquette (18 days ago)
Loved the explanations so much!
Ingvild Kvakestad (18 days ago)
I have c-ptsd issues no diagnoses loads of pain I just shut down instead of getting angry though. I hear Words sometimes or screams
Allison Kwinn (19 days ago)
I'm going to watch these movies now..
j0704 (19 days ago)
Dexter isn’t a psychopath. Change my mind
Evan White (19 days ago)
Well, 'high-functioning' does mean more self-control, more restraint and forethought and sociopaths can be high-functioning like Corey Reaux-Savonte on Quora.
Robinson Joe (20 days ago)
If you take the time to get to know someone who is autistic it's really interesting to rewarding to get to know them and sort of understand how they see the world.
Stephen Harvey (20 days ago)
What about Mad Max? Does he have PTSD? Is he a Nihilist? Is he just very angry?
Niamh Seren (20 days ago)
A lot of movies have charecters with BPD or seemingly so, I guess because they can cause a lot of drama making it seem more entertaining. Though it’s really not fun off schmreen. Crazy ex girlfriend is really good series and the charecters has bpd andnyou see all the obsession pain insecurity etc
Niamh Seren (20 days ago)
This is a wonderful video it’s so cool you made this I love videos like these!!!
Niamh Seren (20 days ago)
There actually are channels by people with disssociative identity disorder - it’s really fascinating - DISSOCIDIDisone.
Nina Mercer (20 days ago)
11:12 how does being able to withstand more heat than the average person yet less cold than the person have to do with being a pyschopath?
Renee Knocksyouout (20 days ago)
Many people don't realize there's different branches of schizophrenia. My mother has it and it can be very traumatic to people who don't know what it is especially when they are young. She would hear and see things that weren't there.
Ibuhamil Menyusui (20 days ago)
Next would be, Real thanos react to avenger infinity war
Kuroonehalf (21 days ago)
Switching to the side camera is incredibly distracting. It feels like the person has stopped talking to me and is talking to someone else. Please stop doing this.
Lou / (20 days ago)
Kuroonehalf It was how demanding you were in your comment, it was so self entitled. You can’t expect a large company to a) even see your comment b) accommodate to a small amount of people on something that’s quite small. All they probably care about is how many views and how much money they get. They won’t mind if they’re shooting them self in the foot because they can afford to risk that with such a large following.
Kuroonehalf (20 days ago)
​+Lou / What're you talking about? These videos are posted with the purpose of being watched by as many people as possible. If the filming techniques actively distract the viewer from the content then they're shooting themselves in the foot. I am far from being the only person who's (consciously or unconsciously) affected by this. If this doesn't affect you, why do you care what others think anyways?
Lou / (20 days ago)
Kuroonehalf Well, he isn’t talking to you, and you’re not the only person watching this video. You can’t expect a large company to make videos accommodated to your wants that are quite petty to begin with.
Icee (22 days ago)
Im a sociopath and this humored me
nunya nunya (22 days ago)
cool another shrink who told me to my face they would be afraid to be around me... question 'who do you see when the professionals wont see you? is there super professionals?'
Eraida Mag (22 days ago)
Here for sherlock!❤️
rojoshow13 (22 days ago)
I have a lot of personal experience with different mental health disorders. I remember watching Silver Linings Playbook and I really loved how it presented a family that loved each other and how they struggled with their different issues. I could definitely relate to it. And one show that I absolutely love is South Park and when they did the episode on Tourette Syndrome I was really pleased with how accurate it was. A lot of people think that it's just verbal outbursts of swearing but even out of the people that have verbal tics, the swearing is a very small percentage. And they showed about half a dozen characters with Tourettes and they each had a different and unique tic. A lot of people don't even notice my tics even though I have Tourettes. I have a lot of subtle tics with my eyes and fingers and pulling on my shirt collar. My mom had a pretty severe tic with her head and neck and it caused her a lot of pain. And it's not exactly an unexpected thing...it's more like an uncontrollable urge to make the movement. Like if I don't squeeze my eyes shut it's unbearable and if I don't pull my shirt away from my neck I can't stand it.
debarun das (23 days ago)
That's a very weird reason to like a marvel movie..
Arkham Knight (23 days ago)
When the heck did the word "Trigger" become an official thing?
Anonymous (23 days ago)
No Nightcrawler? sadface
Kalyani Dubey (23 days ago)
Thank you for putting it out there, the fact that people with mental illnesses are most likely to be the victims of violence rather than being vient themselves. 😊
ԋαɳʂ ωolʇ (24 days ago)
interesting
Black Disciples (24 days ago)
This should be fun, but I want him to review Broly and dbs Broly
Ryan Wolf (25 days ago)
Dogs are awesome.
Isa Wilson (25 days ago)
John Nash (beautiful mind) and Kim Peek (rain man) are/were real people, some of the criticisms of the representations might be overlooking that those characters were based on an actual person and their personal experience of schizophrenia and ASD.
Minni Me (25 days ago)
How about a Psychologist watches the Therpy scene from Rick & Morty?
Тоня Орлова (25 days ago)
Great video. I tend to avoid leaving comments under YouTube videos but I feel like I have something important to say - if you struggle with your mental health and decide to see a psychiatrist, I believe, you should be open and honest with them and here's why: I was misdiagnosed with bipolar disorder a long time ago. Was taking the medicine for it and getting treatment. A few months ago I was shocked to find out that I am, in fact, schizophrenic and not bipolar. I made a mistake by not telling my doctor about the hallucinations I am experiencing because of fear of getting locked up in a mental institution without consent. (I happen to be one of the 'lucky' ones who have mostly visual hallucinations as well as audible and, rarely, tactile). After getting the proper diagnosis and trying out different medicine (4mg of risperidone a day) I feel much better. I must admit though that I don't take it as consistently as I should which causes brain damage, headache, heartache and much worse hallucinations during the so-called withdrawal period (I can neglect taking it for weeks on end). However, I genuinely feel like I'm getting better at this because I finally understood the importance of consistency when it comes to my medicine. After the horrific hallucinations I've experienced while travelling in Oslo, I feel motivated enough to take it like my life depends on it. I guess, what I'm trying to stay is that I understand how and why being 100% open and honest with your psychiatrist may feel uncomfortable and even horrifying, but consider it. In my case it was surely worth it. Good luck.
NABAMB (26 days ago)
What if person's dog is imaginary?
Trumpet Boi (26 days ago)
I'm emotionally intelligent
někdojinej (26 days ago)
great video, its just a bit annoying when you realize that his almost every sentece sounds like a question. but maybe I got some mental disorder and get triggered too easy :)
pons500 (26 days ago)
Don't think Split should be seen in a professional contexts, as it turns out that all the personalities of the character are part of some sort of supernatural man. I mean, "normality" does not apply to Kevin Crumb, but still it is interesting to learn something about DID. So thanks doctor!
Ash Joy (27 days ago)
I’m not a psychopath I’m a high functioning sociopath do your research
dzta Hydro (27 days ago)
You blinking too much.
oliver sommer (27 days ago)
i would love to see him reviewing "The end of the f***ing world¨"
I ship choni (27 days ago)
I’d love him to react to riverdale characters, especially cheryl blossom and clearly she has some mental illness, but the show ignores them 😩
I've been told since the Sherlock series started that I'm very much like Sherlock. Not a good thing as I had to walk in to a therapist's office and say "I think I might be a sociopath." The therapist then listened to why, asked me questions about my personality and ended the two hour long session with the sentence "you know… I have worked with autistic people all my career and I would personally put Sherlock Holmes under Asperger's syndrome." So now I'm under "investigation" for Asergers. Great! **sarcasm**
adam stepfner (28 days ago)
toni collette played DID a million times better in united states of tara than anything in split
Tyler Durden (28 days ago)
For the psychopath, you should show him, Hannibal Lecter by Mads Mikkelsen.
Half-Blind (28 days ago)
A real sociopath reviews sociopaths in movies and TV?
psyknerver (28 days ago)
Dustin Hoffman based his character of the autistic savant Kim Peak.
Josh fedora Moore (29 days ago)
When he was going over silver linings playbook and said “this shows how hard it can be for the family” I really felt that, having a family member with extremely severe manic-bipolar disorder is an extremely difficult thing to deal with
Julie B (29 days ago)
A delight to watch, thank you.
Nflames REAL (29 days ago)
*I'm a mixture between a sociopath and a psychopath.*
Vadalia (30 days ago)
Some tricks I've seen some people with schizophrenia describe are- For audio hallucinations, put on headphones and listen to music. If you hear the voice(s) just as well with the headphones on/music playing as you did without them, it's a hallucination. For visual hallucinations, either take off your glasses or, if you don't wear glasses, unfocus your eyes so everything you see goes fuzzy. Just like the audio trick, if you can see the questionable person/object just as well as with your glasses on/eyes focused, that means it's a visual hallucination.
Lioness Mummy (30 days ago)
My daughter is autistic. The rigidity is accurate and so is the fixation.
mia goard (30 days ago)
FBI agent reacts to criminal minds
Andrea Grisell (30 days ago)
Someone get that man a hug.
Josh Baldridge (1 month ago)
It's unfortunate that antisocial personality disorder (as I was diagnosed with in high school) as well as most other common mental illnesses are constantly portrayed as a prop or setpiece in the life of those affected. It's typically portrayed in media as a stereotypical "heros story" sort of Arc, or a villians story aimed solely at relating an audience to the absolute worst and most extreme cases of said conditions. It creates a stigma around it, even when symptoms are barely noticeable to those outside of practice, people tend to take the worst qualities and generalizations and judge you for them even when you don't express said qualities most of the time, if at all. The label is all it takes. I refrain from mentioning it in social interactions because the last thing someone wants to hear at a party is "sorry that I'm not quite as in tune to people as I should be due to a very narrow and often ignorant mindset I possess, caused by something I have little control over, that I struggle to improve on constantly, which is why I'm even bothering to have the interactions in the first place. By the way I'm technically a sociopath, but I'm trying to improve though." Not exactly something you'd be willing to share right?
Sakina Fletcher (1 month ago)
Omg the ending I hope he got his hug
Charlotte Kwong (1 month ago)
I love these kinds of videos! The lawyer was one of my favorite
Ian Butler (1 month ago)
rainman is based on a real person....
Lukson (1 month ago)
Mental illness is temporary disability of human intelligence, or even permanetly.

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.